Kyoshi Takahama’s ‘Dead Chrysanthemum’

Inspiration-

a dead chrysanthemum
and yet – isn’t there still something
remaining in it?

What a strong haiku by Takahama, isn’t it? It left me wondering about the outcome.

My take-

Reduced to pulp
your flesh decay but something stays-
undying spirit.

14 responses to “Kyoshi Takahama’s ‘Dead Chrysanthemum’

  1. I don’t like to think of my dead loved ones ‘decaying’ and becoming ‘pulp’, but yes, their spirit has never left my side..

  2. I’ve absolutely fallen in love with this Haiku by Kyoshi (I also love your rendition as well) and I wonder where you found it, I’ve been trying to find this piece written in traditional hiragana but its been evading me! I was wondering if you could help me possibly?

    • Hi Christine,
      I write for Carpe Diem Haiku… and this haiku was one of the prompts… a masterpiece by Kyoshi indeed… Even I have not come across the Japanese or Romaji version of this one, sorry… 😦

Leave a Reply

