Hototogisu Haiku – A Poor Haikuist’s Tale

Little cuckoo coos
I fight with the rickshaw man
over five rupees

I feel like Kobayashi Issa these days, his pain, his life filled with agony. The haiku, I wrote this morning, features my pain as I struggle with finances. Will I ever be able to earn a good livelihood as a haiku traveler?
No matter what, I will continue to travel and compose haiku.
I am leaving for Bhatinda (a city in Punjab) on Sunday and will write haiku on my journey, stay, food, people, animals, birds and more.

5 responses to “Hototogisu Haiku – A Poor Haikuist’s Tale

Leave a Reply

