The Maynard in Me – A Tribute

Maynard’s projects Tool, A Perfect Circle and Puscifer have been the greatest influence on my writing as a haiku poet. I truly admire Maynard’s menacing style and how he grips the listener with those perfect words.

I am hooked to A Perfect Circle’s Pet from the Thirteenth Step album, everything about the song is outlandish and I am nobody to even decipher the lyrics that Maynard has written.

The senryu set is my tribute to the song as I tried to write in his style in Pet. Go, listen to Pet now!

Her big eyes stare
at the windows and door
they will come soon

~ ~ ~

He pats her forehead
sings lullabies of fairies
cuffs on her ankle

~ ~ ~

He protects her from-
they who are coming, coming
some say bogeyman

Leave a Reply

